NOAA’s Science Advisory Board (SAB) was established by a Decision Memorandum dated September 25, 1997. It is the only Federal Advisory Committee with responsibility to advise the Under Secretary of Commerce for Oceans and Atmosphere on long- and short-range strategies for research, education and the application of science to resource management and environmental assessment and prediction.

SAB activities and advice provide necessary input to ensure that National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) science programs are of the highest quality and provide optimal support to resource management, and environmental assessment and prediction. The advisory board assists NOAA in maintaining a complete and accurate understanding of scientific issues critical to the agency's missions.

Composed of eminent scientists, engineers, resource managers and educators, the diverse membership of the Board assures expertise reflecting the full breadth of NOAA's responsibilities, as well as the ethnic and gender diversity of the United States. Members are appointed by the Under Secretary of Commerce for Oceans and Atmosphere and NOAA Administrator.

The NOAA Administrator, Dr. Kathy Sullivan, and NOAA Chief Scientist, Dr. Rick Spinrad, are pleased to announce the appointment of four new members to the NOAA Science Advisory Board.  These individuals will provide the agency with advice on meteorology, climate science, and hydrology, adding to the other fields of expertise already represented on the SAB.

Everette Joseph, State University of New York at Albany
Eugenia Kalnay, University of Maryland
Richard Moss, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
Denise Reed, Water Institute of the Gulf

NOAA looks forward to working with these distinguished scientists and educators.


For further information contact:
NOAA Science Advisory Board
1315 East-West Highway
Room 11230
Silver Spring, MD 20910
Phone: (301) 734-1157
FAX: (301) 713-1459